1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Ticket to Ride World Snowboard Tour


TTR World Tour Logo © Ticket to Ride World Tour

Ticket to Ride World Snowboard Tour Introduction:

In 2002 snowboarding was developing rapidly as a sport and quickly becoming one of the world’s most popular winter activities. Some of the sport’s first phenoms saw the rise in popularity as an opportunity to create better competitions.

Terje Haakonsen -- one of the most talented early riders -- created the Ticket to Ride World Snowboard Tour (TTR) to bring the best riders in the world together to compete in various locations.

Ticket to Ride World Snowboard Tour History:

The first tour included nine competitions held at different world-class snowboard resorts around the globe. The winner of each event was awarded a medal and invited to compete in the year’s final event, The Arctic Challenge. The champions of TTR were crowned at the Arctic Challenge competition.

The nine-event format was used until the 2004/2005 season. The competition underwent major changes the following year. In the 2005/2006 season women’s competitions were finally added to the tour and the first women’s TTR champion -- Cheryl Maas of the Netherlands -- was crowned.

TTR also came out with a new tiered ranking system, which allowed for far more events to be held in even more diverse locations. With 67 events on the roster, TTR became one of the most prestigious competitive tours in snowboarding. Slopestyle, Quarter Pipe, and Halfpipe were the first events on the tour, but Stadium Slopestyle was added to the list for the 2006/2007 season. Interest in the tour was peaking among riders and spectators; 2,981 snowboarders from 35 countries competed in the tour that year.

The following season a prize purse of $250,000 was added to the end of the tour, which turned a lot of heads in the snowboard industry. Events were now held in 27 countries, making TTR one of the most diverse competitive snowboard tours in the world. The number of riders continued to escalate, and Terje Haakonsen’s grassroots idea had turned into one of the most progressive movements in snowboarding history.

The tour celebrated its 10th year during the 2011/2012 season. As snowboarding became more mainstream, TTR did too. The best riders in the world were competing and the difficulty of maneuvers was increasing.

The competitions grew bigger and bigger, and the World Championships of Snowboarding were included as a tour event. For the first time since 1999, World Champions were crowned, and TTR proved it wasn’t slowing down anytime soon.

Ticket to Ride World Snowboard Tour Ownership:

TTR Pro Snowboarding is a non-profit organization based in Switzerland that owns the Ticket to Ride World Snowboard Tour. The owners are the organizers of the 3 to 6 star events on TTR, which is also known as the World Snowboard Tour.

Ticket to Ride World Snowboard Tour Events:

  • Men’s Halfpipe,
  • Men’s Slopestyle
  • Men’s Big Air
  • Women’s Halfpipe
  • Women’s Slopestyle

Ticket to Ride World Snowboard Tour Winners:

Slopestyle: Shaun White
Quarterpipe: Travis Rice
Halfpipe: Cancelled

2003/2004 Quarterpipe: Travis Rice
Halfpipe: Andy Finch

2004/2005 Slopestyle: Cancelled
Quarterpipe: Markus Keller
Halfpipe: Cancelled

2005/2006 Men’s TTR Champion: Mathieu Crepel
Women’s TTR Champion: Cheryl Maas

2006/2007 Men’s TTR Champion: Shaun White
Women’s TTR Champion: Torah Bright

2007/2008 Men’s TTR Champion: Kevin Pearce
Women’s TTR Champion: Jamie Anderson

2008/2009 Men’s TTR Champion: Peetu Piiroinen
Women’s TTR Champion: Kelly Clark

2009/2010 Men’s TTR Champion: Peetu Piiroinen
Women’s TTR Champion: Enni Rukajarvi

2010/2011 Men’s TTR Champion: Peetu Piiroinen
Women’s TTR Champion: Jamie Anderson

2011/2012 Men’s Slopestyle: Sebastien Toutant
Women’s Slopestyle: Jamie Anderson
Men's Halfpipe: Louri Podladtchikov
Women's Halfpipe: Kelly Clark
Men’s Overall Champion: Stale Sandbech
Women’s Overall Champion: Cilka Sadar

2012/2013 Men’s Slopestyle: Mark McMorris
Women’s Slopestyle: Sarka Pancochova
Men's Halfpipe: Ayumu Hirano
Women's Halfpipe: Kelly Clark
Big Air: Sebastien Toutant
Men’s Overall Champion: Peetu Piiroinen
Women’s Overall Champion: Sarka Pancochova

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Snowboarding
  4. Snowboarding Competitions
  5. Ticket to Ride World Snowboard Tour

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.